404 – (Amick) not found

Just the other day, like most days, an e-mail popped into my inbox that I glanced at for no more than .007 seconds. But something about this particular note inspired a double-take: the word ‘Anniversary.’

“Uh oh,” I thought as the sweat began to build on my brow. Did I miss my wedding anniversary?! Alas, this was a different type of anniversary, as the professional web site, LinkedIn, was informing me that it had been four years since I joined the team at USA TODAY Sports.

Time sure flies, man.

When I hopped on board at our place, joining Jeff Zillgitt in covering the NBA after spending the previous two years at Sports Illustrated, James Harden had just been traded from OKC to the Rockets and Dwight Howard was two months into his short-but-not-so-sweet stay with the Lakers. Needless to say, not everyone has been lucky enough to find a good squad and stick with it.

All of which is a long-winded, stream-of-consciousness way of saying that this site has mostly become an Amick archive these days. If you haven’t followed me over to our USA TODAY Sports NBA site, then I’m clearly doing it wrong. But for the few stragglers who still stumble on here every so often, come join me over there and celebrate the fact that high-level hoops is in such rich supply these days.

The NBA, and by proxy those of us blessed to cover it, is alive and well.

Footnote: If you’re the podcast-listening type, be sure to subscribe to our “NBA A to Z” show on iTunes here. For the Soundcloud crowd, the pod can be found here. 

 

Comments are closed.